top of page

About Us - Mission

Greater Wausau Christian Services is a community of congregations that brings Christian compassion and hope to individuals and families in elder care facilities and the Marathon County Jail.

Why we are in the community?
To minister to those who may feel isolated from the community as well as those who are isolated from society by sharing God's love for them which is revealed in Jesus Christ and His sacrificial death and glorious resurrection for them and for us.

How we do what we do?
We are able to minister to others because of the wonderful and gracious support of 14 congregations in the greater Wausau area as well as all the additional support that we receive from so many other congregations and individuals in and out of the area.  We truly could not do what is being done without all the help and support that is provided to us by our God as He works throughout the community and beyond to meet the needs of those He loves and cares for.

ABOUT: About Us

“The King will reply, ‘Truly I tell you, whatever you did for one of the least of these brothers and sisters of mine, you did for me.’"

Jesus - Matthew 25: 40

ABOUT: Quote
Ray pic enlarged.jpg

Ray Slatton


Director Ray Slatton was nominated for Wausau's 2018 People of the Year! He's been the Director of Greater Wausau Christian Services since 01/25/2010.


Sharon Michalski

Administrative Assistant

Sharon Michalski is our Administrative Assistant and joined our organization in 2022.

ABOUT: Meet the Team
ABOUT: Image

Current Board Members

The qualifications to become a board member for GWCS are:  A caring person with a heart for institutionalized elderly and persons confined to the jail.

Elected Officers:

President - Richard Hawley, Trinity Lutheran Church ELCA

Vice President - Jim Tarras,  Mt.  Calvary Lutheran Church ELCA

Secretary - Shirley Ecker, Pilgrim Lutheran Church ELCA

​Treasurer - Kelly Brown, St. Stephen Lutheran Church 

Board Members at Large:

Rev. Tryphine Schruba, First English Lutheran Church ELCA​

David Wilharms, St. Paul's United Church of Christ

​Sharon Hanke ,Trinity Lutheran Church and School LCMS

Rev. Ted Gulhaugen, Zion Lutheran Church LCMC

Matt Hoyord, Mount Olive Lutheran LCMS

bottom of page